Cabrera Archipelago Maritime-Terrestrial National Park

Balearic Islands, Spain

Family Friendly

About Cabrera Archipelago National Park

The Cabrera Archipelago National Park’s territory covers both land and sea, and received its designation in 1991 because of its rare endemic plant species and important bird colonies. In fact, it’s a designated Special Protection Area for birds as well as a Site of Community Importance.

The archipelago is made up of one main island, Cabrera, and six smaller islands and inlets, in the Balearic Islands. The park covers 100 km2 (38.6 sq mi), 87 km2 (33.5 sq mi) of which are water. Because of this, its remoteness, and the restrictions placed on visitors for ecological and military reasons, it attracts relatively few visitors. There is no permanent population within the park, just the staff themselves.


The resident mammals and sea creatures include Bottle-nosed Dolphins, Loggerhead sea turtles, octopuses and moray eels. On land, there are more than 450 plant species and ten sub-species of lizard, and it’s a strategic resting point for over 130 species of migrating birds during the course of the year. Eleonora’s Falcons, Wilson’s storm petrels, Manx shearwaters and Audouin’s gulls are frequent sights.


The site also hosts a 14th Century castle, designated a Property of Cultural Interest, which was used by the Spanish as a concentration camp for French prisoners after the Battle of Bailen in 1808.


Sailing and diving to the many underwater archaeology sites is permitted in authorised areas only and is tightly controlled, but hiking is freely allowed and there are many paths and trails to discover in this spectacular wilderness.

Landscape Photography
Balearic Islands, Spain
Latitude: 39.156488, Longitude: 2.950417